Baseball Fashion Matters

by Dan Mathers

So the other day I’m teasing my wife for watching the Oscars Fashion Police show on E, making fun of the mentally-shortchanged folks who make a career out of slamming someone for a bad choice in necklaces. Then, E followed that show up with breaking news: a dress had been chosen for Anna Nicole’s burial, and they had an exclusive interview with the designer’s life-partner. Clearly, I thought, a large, very sick portion of the population spends way too much time focused on fashion.

I only had to turn to NESN to realize just how wrong I was.

It turns out fashion does matter. If Red Sox management had realized that, they may have avoided making one of the great baseball fashion blunders in recent years — this spring training’s uniforms. At first glance, they look fine – the red uniforms and all-red hats. Then a pitcher raises an arm as he goes through his delivery, and there you see it: the big, blue sweat stain. Only it isn’t a stain. It is an actual piece of the uniform; a wide, blue swath under the armpits of each red shirt.

How did Sox management think this was a good look? Did they pay a fashion expert from Paris to design the tops? Or did they just grab a sweaty intern from their equipment department to put it together? And how did they go along with it when the designer said, "Pit stains are in." Did Larry Luccinho really think these would sell? Which, after all, is the only reason for changing spring uniforms year after year.

Don’t know about you, but I usually try to hide my pit stains. So I’ll avoid the new uniform. Unless, of course, all the cool people start wearing it.

One comment

  1. Steve

    Dan,
    Actually, the style the Sox are wearing is the same as most other teams. I guess it was an MLB decision because the Brewers have a gold sweat stain on their uni’s. I agree that the look is not a good one… and don’t get me started on that half circle above the ears on the hats… what’s up with that??

    Great start Dan,

    Steve

Leave a comment